Functional Safety Overview

Functional Safety Overview

SuperTest is used to qualify compilers for functional safety. Functional safety is one of the most important features in many embedded systems today, especially within sectors such as automotive, industrial automation and medical. Compiler qualification is the process that can be used to develop the required confidence in the compiler. Compiler testing against the language specification is the proper method for this. SuperTest and its requirement traceability is the best test suite for compiler qualification.

There are different functional safety standards for which you can use SuperTest to qualify your compiler or library.

ISO 26262
ISO 26262 is the functional safety standard for electrical and electronic systems in series production passenger cars. It requires qualification of all (electrical and electronic) components with respect to safety. The qualification process is described in the standard. Read more here.

IEC 61508
IEC 61508 is the international umbrella standard for functional safety. The standard and standards derived from it, is used within all kinds of industries with requirements on reliability and safety, for example process industries, nuclear power plants, railway control systems. Read more here.

EN 50128
EN 50128 is a European standard for safety related software in railway applications. Read more here.

IEC 62304
IEC 62304 is the international standard which specifies life cycle requirements for the development of medical software and within medical devices.